In Louisiana, you don’t have to be completely free from fault in order to recover for your injuries. Louisiana is a comparative fault state, which means that the value of your injuries are reduced only by your percentage of fault.
For example, if your injuries are worth $100,000 and you have 10% of the fault, then you would receive $90,000.
Even if you are told by the police officer at the scene that you are at fault, contact the Cossé Law Firm to have us review your case. You may be surprised to know that you can receive at least a portion of the money for your injuries.