Whether you are a motorcycle rider or not, most people agree that wearing a helmet when you are riding one is a smart idea. While motorcycles account for less than 1% of the vehicles traveling on our roads; they account for a large percentage of accidents.
Statistics show that for every 100,000 vehicles on the road, car accidents account for just over 13% of accidents. Out of 100,000 vehicles on the road, 72.34% of accidents were motorcycle accidents. In the year 2010, accidents involving motorcycles resulted in 4,502 deaths.
Universal Helmet Laws
The laws requiring the use of helmets vary from state to state. States that have laws regarding helmets have different sets of rules determining the features that must be on the helmet. However, 19 states require that a motorcycle driver or passenger must wear a helmet. According to our motorcycle accident lawyers, this is known as the Universal helmet law.
The Laws In Louisiana
In the state of Louisiana, you are required to wear a helmet if you are on a motorcycle that is in motion. This includes riders and drivers. The requirements of the helmet are as follows:
- The helmet must have a suitable chinstrap that will keep the helmet secure in the event of a crash
- The helmet must have sufficient padding and lining
- The helmet must have a sun visor
- The helmet must meet all safety standards set by the National Commissioner.
- Protective eyewear
What Are The Protective Eyewear Rules?
The laws in Louisiana require anyone riding a motorcycle to wear either a form of goggles or a suitable helmet visor. If your motorcycle has a built-in windshield that meets the prescribed minimum height for protection (it must extend above eye level), the law does not require you to wear protective eyewear.
What is a motorcycle?
The laws pertaining to a motorcycle means any bike that is motor-driven. This includes motor driven bicycles. It also includes motorcycles that have been adapted to the tri-wheel style.
If the bike has a passenger compartment that has a windshield and a roof, the rider is not required to wear a helmet.
If you are guilty of breaking the motorcycle law, you will be fined $50, plus all court costs. However, the penalty is not nearly as bad as the results of being in a crash without a helmet.
If you are traveling down the highway at 60 miles per hour and the only thing between your head and the concrete is air, you will most certainly sustain injury. If you are lucky, you will recover. But, there is a good chance that you will have life-long problems after a serious motorcycle crash.
Motorcycles are often not seen by automobiles and semi-trucks. The size of the bike and the position of where you are riding it make a difference. While all drivers should be on the lookout for a cyclist, the facts show they do not. If you are going to ride a motorcycle, you must be extra diligent in protecting yourself. Assume the driver does not see you. Wear your helmet and enjoy your bike safely.
For more information, speak to our motorcycle accident attorneys.